ASHRAE honours long-time outstanding service

Monday, June 27, 2016

A trio of Haligonians has been named among 15 distinguished 50-year members of ASHRAE.  Denis Morris, James Scriven and Gordon Weld — all professional engineers, ASHRAE Fellows and life members — received the award for long-time outstanding service, bestowed at the 2016 ASHRAE annual conference in St. Louis, Missouri.

Although an impressive number of awards per capita were carried back to Halifax, this year’s 92 winners in 17 categories reside in regions across North America and throughout the world. Three other Canadians were also saluted.

Craig Wray, a professional engineer now retired from the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, was one of 10 recipients of the exceptional service award. He lives in Winnipeg.

James Cowan, a professional engineer and ASHRAE life member from Toronto, received a distinguished service award, as did Alex McGowan, a professional engineer and vice president, technical services, with WSP Canada Inc. in Victoria. This year, 34 ASHRAE members received this commendation for their contributions to local, regional and national ASHRAE activities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *