Design Excellence

OAA’s 2016 Design Excellence award winners

Wednesday, April 13, 2016

The Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) has selected 10 recipients of this year’s Design Excellence award, the largest category of the annual OAA Awards.

The recipients were selected from almost 200 submissions. Winning designs demonstrate outstanding practise in creativity, context, sustainability, good design, good business and legacy. The winning projects are located across the country and range from cultural centres to community gathering spots to private residences.

The Design Excellence award winners include Aga Khan Museum in Toronto, Ont.; Commonwealth Community Recreation Centre in Edmonton, Alta.; Go Home Bay Cabin in Georgian Bay Township, Ont.; Harbord Towns in Toronto; Prince Arthur’s Landing in Thunder Bay, Ont.; Richard Ivey Building at Western University in London, Ont.; Robert H. Lee Alumni Centre at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, B.C.; Skygarden House in Toronto; Stade de soccer de Montreal in Montreal, Que.; and the Toronto Public Library Scarborough Civic Centre Branch in Toronto.

The awards, which will be presented at the Allstream Centre in Toronto on May 13th, will also be presented to winners in the categories of Concepts, Landmark Designation, Best Emerging Practice, G. Randy Roberts Service Award, Honour Roll, Lifetime Design Achievement Award and Order of da Vinci. There will also be an OAA People’s Choice Award for Design Excellence. To cast a vote before April 22, please visit, and for addition information, please visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *