USGBC names 2015 Leadership Award winners

Monday, November 23, 2015

Recipients of the 2015 U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC) Leadership Awards were honoured at the annual USGBC Leadership Luncheon at the Greenbuild International Conference and Expo in Washington, D.C. last week.

The awards recognize outstanding individuals and organizations at the forefront of sustainability in the built environment.

“The recipients of USGBC’s annual Leadership Awards possess an unwavering commitment to advancing the work of our movement and truly deserve to be recognized and celebrated,” said Rick Fedrizzi, chief executive officer and founding chair of the USGBC. “These leaders inspire others to take action through their passion for a more sustainable world.

This year’s recipients include:

  • Chrissa Pagitsas, director of the Green Initiative at Fannie Mae, was recognized for revolutionizing how we think about and deliver financial services to the multi-family industry. Under her direction, the Fannie Mae Multifamily Mortgage Business has originated more than $140 million in Green Mortgage Backed Securities.
  • Honorable Katherine Hammack, assistant secretary of the Army for Installations, Energy and Environment, has exemplified outstanding leadership in the public sector. Her unwavering advocacy for the use of LEED in Army buildings has been critically important to the green building movement.
  • Amory Lovins, co-founder of the Rocky Mountain Institute, is one of the heroes of the green building movement. His visionary leadership and determination to carry the global conversation about innovation in resource use forward and to involve stakeholders from every walk of life has broadened the support base for the green building movement.
  • Cornelius Murphy, former president and now senior fellow for Environmental and Sustainable Systems at State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry, is a leader in the academic sector and has worked tirelessly to advance the study and discussion of environmental science.
  • Romilly Madew, chief executive officer of the Green Building Council of Australia, is a convener, a collaborator and a champion for sustainable development and the green building movement around the world.
  • Juan Ontiveros, associate vice-president – utilities at the University of Texas at Austin, is the winner of the inaugural Robert W. Galvin Award given to an individual. Under his direction, the University of Texas at Austin has invested hundreds of millions of dollars in energy efficiency and capacity upgrades, all of which have been covered by energy savings.
  • Colgate-Palmolive Company is this year’s recipient of the Ray Anderson Radical Industrialism Award. Sponsored by the Ray C. Anderson Foundation, USGBC presents this namesake award each year to a

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *